Jalview has been developed in Geoff Barton’s group since 1995. Jalview Version 1 was developed at The University of Oxford and EMBL-EBI. Since 2001, Jalview has been developed in Geoff Barton’s Group at the University of Dundee, and [Version 2] was launched in 2005.

The current members of the Jalview core team are:

The team works closely with the Dundee Resource for Protein Sequence Analysis and Structure Prediction, which provides many of Jalview’s web services. Jalview also incorporates many community contributions. You can see the full list of contributors and past members at the bottom of this page.


Jalview’s core team work closely with the following collaborators:


Jalview’s core team at Dundee is currently supported by the following grant:

Previous grants

Completed grants from the UK’s BBSRC (Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council) and the Wellcome Trust

The Jalview resource also relies on support from the Dundee Resource for Sequence Analysis and Protein Structure Prediction which is supported by the following grant:

and previously:

  • 2013-2018 BBSRC: BB/J019364/1 The Dundee Resource for Protein Structure Prediction and Sequence Analysis.

Jalview’s Contributors

Jalview’s primary authors and contributors are listed below. The ‘AUTHORS’ file in Jalview’s source provides the most up to date list of contributors for each release. Scroll down further for details of specific features implemented through community contributions and open-source supported student projects.

  • James (Jim) Procter
  • Mungo Carstairs
  • Ben Soares
  • Kira Mourao
  • Tochukwu Ofoegbu
  • Jan Engelhardt
  • Lauren Lui
  • Anne Menard
  • Natasha Sherstnev
  • Daniel Barton
  • David Roldan-Martinez
  • Yann Ponty
  • Andrew Waterhouse (Joint first author Jalview 2)
  • Michele Clamp (Creator of Jalview 1)
  • James Cuff (Jalview 1)
  • Steve Searle (Jalview 1)
  • David Martin (coinvestigator for original Jalview 2)
  • Geoff Barton (Chief Bugtester for all versions of Jalview)

Community Contributions

We would like to specifically thank the following people who have contributed code, or otherwise collaborated with the core Jalview team, in roughly reverse historical order:

If we’ve forgotten you, or you’d like to update your details, please contact us!

Jalview logos

  • Jalview 2.0 logo The original Jalview 2 logo and site design was created by Andrew Waterhouse in 2005.
  • Jalview 2.8 onwards logo The Jalview logotype was created in 2012 by Barry Strachan.
  • Jalview Develop logo The logo for Jalview Develop was adapted from the Jalview logotype in 2020 by Ben Soares with changes inspired by the Penrose Triangle. It shows a more fluid representation of the logo to indicate the more fluid nature of new features in Jalview Develop. Read into the “impossible twist” what you will!
  • Jalview Test logo The logo for Jalview Test was adapted from the Jalview logotype in 2021 by the Jalview Team. The alteration of the middle square to a white square stylises a checkbox representing the final stages of checking before the next release.
  • JalviewJS logo The logo for JalviewJS was adapted from the Jalview logotype in 2022 by the Jalview Team. The square-based logotype has the ‘JS’ from the commonly used square-based Javascipt logos added in black. To ensure contrast of the black letters on all backgrounds whilst not covering up the Jalview logo in lower resolution, the letters are outlined in a continuation of the logo colouring.

Jalview Web Site Design

The current Jalview website is developed in Hugo Hugo logo . It was created by Adrian Simmons who modernised the site and migrated it from Drupal to Hugo in early 2021. It was put into production in August 2022.

The Jalview website makes use of open source projects:

The Drupal Drupal logo Site design and development was done by Ryan McLaughlan and Andrew Millar in the Web Services group at the University of Dundee College of Life Sciences 2010. Older Jalview sites were developed in Dreamweaver, or Plain Old HTML.

Jalview Version 1

Jalview was first developed from 1995-1997 at The University of Oxford and then EMBL-EBI from 1997-2001. Since 2001 the core development team has been based in the School of Life Sciences at The University of Dundee.

  • Michele Clamp
  • James Cuff
  • Stephen Searle
  • Geoff Barton